Best TiE Associate Member Entrepreneur

Mallika Srinivasan, CEO, Tractors and Farm Equipment Ltd, received a Lifetime Entrepreneur Achievement Award from TiE Chennai for steering the company to its position as the world’s third-largest tractor manufacturer.

S.S. Badrinath, Founder, Sankara Nethralaya, and winner of last year’s Lifetime Achievement Award, gave the award to Srinivasan at TiECON Chennai 2013.

In her acceptance speech, she said: “You need a clear vision and passion for what you are doing.

“The world is full of constraints. Entrepreneurs should accept them and adopt different business models accordingly.”


“Entrepreneurship in Tamil Nadu is alive and kicking,” said Lakshmi Narayanan, President, TiE Chennai.

Nearly 150 start-ups from across Tamil Nadu participated in this year’s PitchFest to pitch for investments.Of these, 25-30 start-ups have been shortlisted, he said.

Other winners

TiECON Chennai also honoured various entrepreneurs in Tamil Nadu for their success and contribution to society.

This year, TiE Chennai announced eight winners in different categories.

Lifetime Achievement Award: Mallika Srinivasan, Chief Executive Officer, Tractors and Farm Equipment Ltd.

Dronacharya Award: M. Mahadevan, Chairman, Oriental Cuisines.

Entrepreneur of the Year: R. Chellappan, Executive Director, Swelect Energy Systems Ltd.

Most Innovative Entrepreneur: Girish Ramdas and Vijaykumar Radhakrishnan, Founders of Magzter.

Extraordinary Entrepreneur: Kumar Sitaraman, Udday Kumar Krishnan – Founders, Auromatrix Hotels Pvt. Ltd.

Emerging Entrepreneur: Rahoul Jain, Managing Director, Capricorn Foods India Ltd.

Impact Entrepreneur: Anil Kumar and Bindu Ananth, Kshetriya Gramin Financial Services, IFMR Trust.

Best TiE Associate Member Entrepreneur: Arunkumar Athiappan, Karthikeyan Easwaramoorthy and Vasudevan Ramasamy, Founders, Efficsys Infotech India Private Ltd (Ticketgoose)